worship

She stood behind the closed current and with her strong, smooth voice began singing, in acapella, the classic I Love You Lord:

I love You Lord
and I lift my voice
To worship You
O my soul, rejoice!

Take joy, my King
in what you hear
May it be a sweet, sweet sound
in Your ear.

The place was cozy and intimate and as she got to the last verse the room became silent.  Boom!!  The guitars thundered into the rest of the six song set without missing a beat.  It was truly a time of excitement and the crowd was fully satisfied.  By the way, it wasn’t your typical church service.  No, it was a special Flyleaf concert at The Curtain Club in Deep Ellum (Dallas) to collect school supplies for World Vision.

There was this sense in the air that the Spirit was hovering and moving from heart to heart.  It was powerful when Lacey introduced the song flyleaf.jpgAll Around Me and said it was her song to Jesus.  Some dude in the back with a beer in hand shouted, “I love you, Jesus!”  To some it may have seemed trite, but to me it was indicative of the cry humanity really wants to voice.  It showed me how people are wanting change and hope in their lives.  The concert also confirmed to me that Jesus is in the midst of the broken and lost.  Whether it’s in a club, a church building, or on the streets with the homeless where the world seems hopeless, there is redemption.

Flyleaf has to be commended and encouraged.  They have taken on the challenge to walk the journey of faith in the midst of the many who feel hopeless and broken, or who want nothing to do with God.  The band is as human as you and me.  I’m sure they face the struggles and fears on the road that we do in our everyday lives.  As a matter of fact, their struggles may be intensified by their surroundings.  They need our prayer and support for what they do.  I hope you get a chance to see them.  You just might encounter Jesus.

2 responses to “worship

  1. Glad to have you back, sharing your thoughts…
    Travis

  2. We live in a hurting world, that needs to know that Jesus wants to meet them where they’re at. How will they know what Jesus wants when none of his followers show it?

    One glimpse of authenticity in worship may be all a person needs to see that Jesus can mend any brokenness. For a while, I wanted so badly to simplify my life so that I could worship God more whole-heartedly. Now I see that it’s not simplicity God wants but authenticity. If He is living in us, then we had better not suppress Him to the point where his healing touch goes unnoticed. We have a stewardship entrusted to us, in that if Christ is working in us, we should make ourselves open enough so that others can see the work that He is doing.

Leave a Reply

