life: time to wake up

I have been in Germany for a bit and I miss my beautiful wife and wonderful sons.  While here I am discovering many things about my own life that must change.  There is a life to be lived that is greater than the one I currently live.

Before coming to Germany I was challenged to read Colossians 2.  I’m still dissecting all that Paul wrote, which is a lot to work through in chapter 2 alone.  Yet, there are three verses that standout at this moment:

“See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition (rules & regulations) and the basic principles of this world (world view of spirituality) rather than on Christ (the Truth & true Wisdom).  For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity (God) lives in bodily form, and you have been given fullness in Christ (made complete or mature), who is the head over every power and authority.”

Col 2:8-10 (NIV with my interjections)

From the beginning, in the Garden of Eden, to today there has been great deception in the world.  I recently had a very challenging conversation with a couple friends and my wife about when sin first entered humanity.  Was it before, during, or after Adam and Eve bit into the fruit?  Each position was discussed and dissected, but in the end it didn’t matter when sin entered the human heart.  The issue came down to the fact that sin did become part of humanity.  Even greater is the reality that Christ became the vessel of reconciliation for all humanity to be drawn to God the Creator.

As a result, there is a “hollow and deceptive philosophy” that is weaved into the way man thinks on the issues of life and death.  Along with that is the way we create rule upon rule to express our absolute faith and need for God.  The Law was created to remind us of our sin and give us freedom in our relationship with God, but grace was offered to remind us of who God really is and what He wants for our lives.

The philosophies of this world cause us to question the relevance of God.  In the Garden the serpant said, “Did God really say you must not eat any of the fruit in the garden?”  As the conversation with the serpent continued he also twisted the words of God, which resulted in doubt and confusion.  To this day we live in such a world that is filled with chaos, confusion and doubt.  Even the Church has been caught up in this deception with her rules, regulations and unedifying traditions.  We have embraced the world’s view of God in an effort to fill the seats of our palaces.  Even I have toed the line of compromise.  No, actually I’ve crossed that line claiming I was doing God’s work.

I could write more, and probably will later, but today my encouragement to all of us is to examine what we believe.  Consider what it is that causes us to live.  Let us not concern ourselves with things that are denominational or religious.  Let us concern ourselves with allowing God to renew our minds and transform our soul and spirit to His perfection.

Discover your faith as God discovers you.  It’s time for us to wake up.

2 responses to “life: time to wake up

  1. I believe i have crossed that line too. I am not sure why i crossed or whether i really crossed it but i do know i either stepped on the line or crossed the line. Thanks for opening my eyes to this.

  2. I have been reminded of this lately as well. We are called to be guides into God’s mysteries and truths, not to water them down so that more people can drink what has lost its value.

Leave a Reply

