the coming year

I just conducted a personal evaluation of my life in 2006 and there is a lot to chew on for 2007.  This quote probably describes my past year the best:

“Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”  ~ Confucius

I’ve fallen many times this past year and God has been gracious to allow me to scrape up my knees and elbows.  Of course he has also given me reason to get up.  In the process of getting up there has been much to be excited about because each fall makes me stronger when I get up.  Each time up there is a scar to remind me of the growth that is coming and not just the hurt I’ve endured.

The coming year brings much excitement and hope.  My soul yearns to dig deeper into the heart of God and to move forward by leaving the past behind.  It’s time to stop looking back on the failures, but only to glean the wisdom and truth God has for me.  I believe it is safe to say God is trying to bring order to my life and it starts by pressing forward in His movement…His revolution, but not without his blessing.  In my evaluation there was also a revelation impressed on my heart.  The following verse came to mind and then my friend Chris confirmed that it was for me to embrace and meditate on for this year.  It’s part of the dialogue Jesus had with some folks who wanted to follow him:

Jesus answered, “Anyone who starts plowing and keeps looking back isn’t worth a thing to God’s kingdom!” ~ Luke 9:62 (CEV)

This is a year to focus on four things:

Adoration – Discovering fresh and creative ways to worship the God I love and serve.

Repentance – Making sure my heart is in order with God.

Reconciliation – Making sure my life is in order with others.

Transformation – Allow God to change me for his purposes and not my own agenda.

It will not be easy to stay on task with the four items above, but I have great people around me to keep me accountable and focused.  My desire is to be the leader God is calling me to be for the emerging generations.  Let’s see what God does this year.  Join me in spirit to keep the revolution going.  It’s going to be a great year!!

Gibby

Leave a Reply

