Stop Yelling!!!!

I’ve been trying this exercise where I watch at least 3-5 hours of Christian Television a week.  Yes, I’m a glutton for punishment.  Anyway, I’m doing it to see, observe, soak in and suffer the things taught.  Don’t get me wrong, there are some really good teachers/preachers on TV that gently, lovingly, and boldly speak the Truth.  And the sincerity in their presentation is seen, heard and felt.  Yet, there are those who love to scream at the top of their lungs that “Jesus hates sin!” and “I don’t think you’re hearing what I’m saying or else you’d be jumping out of your seat!!”

I’m not one for being yelled at, but I do yell.  Why do they have to yell?  Is their PA system not working?  Are they preaching to the hearing impaired?  Can they not hear themselves?  I know what some of you are thinking.  “Hey, some people like those kinds of preachers.”  True.  Very true.  But they might as well stand on a street corner with a bullhorn in hand and tell everyone they are “going to hell in a handbasket.”  Man, that is one BIG handbasket.

I don’t mean to make light of the issue, but it’s not just the yelling that annoys me.  It’s the “name it and claim it” folks, or the “give us your money and sow a seed of faith” so we can all grow in our prosperity.  How about the “send us your donations and we’ll send you a prayer cloth that has been soaked in the River Jordan” preachers?  No thanks, I have a hanky in my top drawer and a faucet in my bathroom..  God created all the water on the earth.  Mine hanky is just fine.

So, why the exercise?  Well, I’m trying to watch these shows from a perspective that the worldview takes.  It’s almost embarrassing to call myself a Christian, which is why I say, “I am a believer and follower of Jesus the Christ.”  It also breaks my heart that the Christianese is not being translated into the language of our times, or made relevant to our many diverse cultures.

How do we change this trend?  Who will emerge as the voice in the wilderness?  Can we bring back that Ancient Faith into the future of our existence?

Wake up, my friends!  Embrace the transformation that comes from the very heart of God.  Live and don’t just exist.  May your days be filled with the grace and mercy that comes from God’s Spirit.  May your faith be fleshed out in your works.  May you be the image of God to the brokenhearted, rejected and marginalized.  May you be…

One response to “Stop Yelling!!!!

  1. …like you, Gibby. That accurately describes you. There’s a saying by Gandhi that you follow whether you mean to or not. “Be the change you want to see in the world.” Bro, you embody that statement! I am brokenhearted, rejected and marginalized, and you have been the image of God to me so many times I can’t even count. I’ve been turned off to Christ by those fear tactics you speak of, and it is ONLY people like you who were able to break through that barrier to my belief system with your gentleness and love of mankind. God’s love is SO REAL and abundant in you that it eminates from you even when you don’t feel very loving. You are what a real Christian looks like. I thank God that he’s given us your example! May you see the light of God shining as brightly as I see it in you. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

